Holiday season again: what goes around comes around

Once again, I realise that it’s nearly Chrimbo, and I am behind on sending greetings to my friends.

You must forgive me. Living where I do, it’s quite easy to forget that it even happens. Apart from the legions of friends who travel off to exotic places where Christmas is a wonderful experience — New York, London, Lapland (huh?) — and then come back and bring me chocolate, and the almost deathly silence from our O/S office, you wouldn’t know it was any different.

In fact, before i began blogging, i don’t think i ever sent a Christmas card in my life. Maybe one or two. But not many, and certainly not regularly.

Anyway, that said, this post is in lieu of a Christmas card to my wonderful readership and blogfriends. I was going to write individual messages to all, but then something came to my attention which has dampened my somewhat exuberant spirit.

My friend, Minerva, has been a very good friend to me since i began blogging nearly two years ago. I stood by her, even went to visit her in London when she’d had chemo, and then later, when she was post-op, in hospital.

I rejoiced along with her and her legions of fans and friends, when she was pronounced free and clear by the doctors.

Unfortunately, lightning has returned to strike twice. Minerva has cancer again, having beaten the first round. And this time, it’s inoperable.

Please people, go over to her site, and wish her well. She needs as many positive vibes as possible to beat this fucking awful disease into submission.

To all of you out there whom I love, which is the vast majority of you, whatever you celebrate, or even if you don’t, please accept my very warmest love and wishes for a great 2007.

7 Responses to “Holiday season again: what goes around comes around”

  1. Hope your having a wonderful holiday my love.
    I’ll send some of my healing vibes to your friend, you’ve sent us more than enough to share.

    Love you,

    T

  2. Miz BoheMia Says:

    Thank you for your sweet words dear Minxy! Although I must say I am floored by the news on your friend Minerva! Heartbreaking!!! I will make it on over today for sure and am sending out positive vibes already! As many as I can muster!

    Neshikot to you my friend!

  3. It is, indeed, heartbreaking. I’ve been treated for cancer this past year–a whole year of it, with another surgery coming up. Given all that it takes to survive treatment, it’s just unbearable to think about it returning. Hope you’re well.

  4. ArtfulDodger Says:

    Thanks for the well-wishes beautiful and while we don’t celebrate the exact same thing, I bet the meaning is the same! And that’s good enough for me.

    So sorry to hear about Minerva and I will head right over there to share some positive thoughts.

    Take care over there and just know we’re always thinking positive thoughts about you. 🙂

  5. Happy New Year!

  6. Happy New Year, Minxie. I’ll be over to Minerva’s.

  7. Thank you dearest…If God takes those who are loved and who have wonderful friends, then he has picked the right person this time…

    Love you loads and I wish you all that is good in 2007.

    M

Leave a Reply

