Summer stock

Yes, yes. I know, I know.

It’s been another whole week without a peep.

I could give you the old “well, look, things in the real world are getting on top of me” line, which would be true. But what’s also true is that I want to start something new.

Not a blog.

I want to stretch my writing abilities. I want to branch out further and really take them for a run.

I don’t deny that my writing here has enabled a surge of growth in my writing abilities, and I feel much happier in what I write — not just as a result of loving and adoring comments, but in terms of being pleased with my own material.

I was always too shy to show anyone anything I’d written before. The first time I wrote comedy, for example, I had to show the woman in whose show the piece would be performed. It was a skit, like on SNL, (no, I don’t flatter myself that I achieved anywhere near that level of humour — I am merely trying to demonstrate what format it took. Sheesh.)

Anyway, I sent it to her, and waited the year-long hour before she called me with the verdict. I have never been in such a state of poised, nervous limbo… that wait nearly killed me. She loved it, though. So it was worth it.

Anyway, I’ve been doing quite a lot of that sort of thing, and you might remember that a while back I threatened to write a play… well, guess what. I’m doing it. I’m actually doing it.

So my posting here may be somewhat sporadic over the next few months. But hang in there, and watch your feeds for the occasional Minxworthiness…

And have a great summer, y’all.

Love
Minxy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

13 Responses to “Summer stock”

  1. Jenna Howard Says:

    Yay on the writing! I was thinking “Damn, she should be writing for my publisher!” Smokin’ hot stuff. *shakes out burned fingertips*

    Good luck with the play. Rootin’ for ya.

  2. Minerva Says:

    Good luck with the play darling…

  3. 40spoet Says:

    best of luck in your writing career. i’ll be checking in to see how things are going…..poet

  4. Minxie, write the play, then come back and blog how to get tickets.

  5. Deadly Female Says:

    Professional editor here Shminxy. Holler if you want help. I come with references and a degree in English.

    xx

  6. Miz BoheMia Says:

    Ooooh! Jenna and Doug have great suggestions! Take ’em up on it and then come on over and plug your book and your play! WAHOOO!

  7. Desire X Says:

    Stretch your Minxy little paws and go for it! We have no doubt that the stories pulsating in your head are going to make for a tantalizing and delicious play. Just look what you’ve managed to accomplish here!

    You have a wonderful time writing and make sure you keep us up to date on how it’s going.

    All of our luckiest hugs and kisses!

    HER

  8. woot woot on the play baby!!

  9. Never mind tickets Doug, come back and tell us how to audtion – nu?

    Minxy – something about this sight and well, you as a nice Jewish girl? Unless you just speak Hebrew/Yiddish? Not that there’s anything wrong with it – well, I just love it.

    Break a leg!

  10. crabcake Says:

    Hey! It’s ok if your posting slows down when you’re following your dreams, kiddo.

    That’s what living is all about.

  11. Aragorn Says:

    Don’t worry, will be hanging in there … Orchid has an acting ambition … so, maybe when your play is ready … Well, I am very curious to see / hear about it … let the muse inspire you ! Hugs – A

  12. If it puts a smile on someone’s face, and brings some joy, its worth it all…

  13. From the pizzaz I see in you already I think you are selling yourself short to say “I don’t flatter myself that I achieved anywhere near that level of humour” –> Now if you are just being humble and not arrogant, that’s awesome and a great quality to have… but somehow I think that it probably was something spectacular. We are always our harshest and worst critic.

Leave a Reply

