Horror and heartbreak…

You all know in which country I live.

I am no stranger to the heinous aftermath of the twisted ideology purported by the mad terrorist. It doesn’t enable me to understand it any more than any other normal person, nor does it lessen my sense of shock, horror and amazement at the scale of cruelty that one human being can inflict upon another.

And don’t ever insult me or the victims of these dreadful acts by calling them “militants” or – if you dare, you ignorant asshole – “freedom fighters”. Horseshit. They’re monsters. Pure and simple.

Today, these monsters struck not my current home, but my former home. As the final shouts of joy at the news of the 2012 Olympics died on the lips of the last revellers, horrific bomb blasts occurred all through the centre of the city. My heart bleeds for the relatives of those taken, and all those involved… I wish all those injured in any way a full and speedy recovery.

To all my UK readership, and anyone with ties to the UK and London – I sincerely wish you all well and healthy. May as little of the fallout as possible from this dreadful day land on you and yours.

In deep sorrow and pain..

EM

10 Responses to “Horror and heartbreak…”

  1. Minerva Says:

    It is emotions like this that make everything these monsters do pointless and futile. We, united, will face these monsters down….

    Minerva

    A beautiful heart-touching post…

  2. The Gnat's Trumpet Says:

    Nicely put. My wife was working in Midtown Manhattan on 9-11 and although, thankfully, she was far away from Ground Zero, I can remember only too well the fear surrounding that day and the difficulties she had getting out of NYC. So I can imagine a little of what the people over there (at least the ones who haven’t suffered injuries to themselves of their loved ones) are currently going through and I join you in wishing them all well.

  3. The Gnat's Trumpet Says:

    Nicely put. My wife was working in Midtown Manhattan on 9-11 and although, thankfully, she was far away from Ground Zero, I can remember only too well the fear surrounding that day and the difficulties she had getting out of NYC. So I can imagine a little of what the people over there (at least the ones who haven’t suffered injuries to themselves of their loved ones) are currently going through and I join you in wishing them all well.

  4. Londinium Says:

    Most of us are well and safe here. Our thoughts are with those who aren’t.

    xxx
    L

  5. Senseless.

  6. Great post Minxstress. I agree with you 100%.

    The sick fucks who did this are nothing but cowardly pussies.

  7. Evil Minx Says:

    Guys, thank you all for your comments.

    You know something… living here is enough to make me numbed to such events. It happens so often, and there’s only so much grief a body can cope with after a while.

    At first we’d listen to every news report on every available TV and radio station, and weep openly in the street, strangers clinging on to each other for support. The guilt at remaining alive almost crippling the nation.

    10 years down the line since this kind of thing became a semi-regular occurrence. I find myself more and more often numbed into a sense of uselessness each time i hear of such an event.

    No more so than now. Except this time, i’m not numbed. I’m as horrified as I’ve ever been and deeply saddened. No one deserves this. No one.

    I am not one who generally subscribes to the glib “why can’t we all just get along?” philosophies. But will someone out there please explain why we can’t?

    Multi-culturalism and pluralism are facts of life. Why is it so difficult to accept that the person next to you believes in this or that deity, or no deity whatsoever. What ever happened to live and let live? Not to mention treat others as you would be treated yourself? (My own personal life philosophy.) The differences between us all should be embraced and exhalted. Who’d want to be all the same anyway?

    It just doesn’t make sense. Not today, not yesterday, not in the last ten years… never.

    A subdued and sad Minxxx

  8. … The human heart feels things the eyes cannot see, and knows what the mind cannot understand …

    My heart is with them and you.

  9. My heart goes out to you, and to all who suffered from this.

    Won’t you stop by and release on DTWS today!?

    😉

  10. Thanks for the visit to my site. Love yours by the way and will link to you, and happy to do so. I’m still fuming about the events in London since many of my co-workers that I rely on to do my job are there. Calling thes people “freedom fighter” or even “soldiers” requires and intellect that I don’t possess. Fools and cowards would be a better term.

Leave a Reply

