Thank you, Roberta…

I am reminded of Roberta Flack.

“He sang as if he knew me
In all my dark despair..

Strumming my pain…
Singing my life…
Killing me softly…”

Rare is it in this world that we find our soulmate.

When we are lucky enough to do so, should we not cling to it, grasping with the very fingers of our soul? Never wanting, never willing to let go easily?

I mean, seriously people, isn’t that the very purpose for which we’re put on this small blue-green planet? Fuck politics, fuck the economy. What’s important to you is what’s within your soul, and if you have someone who can see into it, how much more can your soul be cherished?

I await your input, minx-people.

EMxxx

18 Responses to “Thank you, Roberta…”

  1. LingLing Says:

    Minx, you know I agree. Completely.

    Which I why I bestow upon you, as a mitzvah, the name:

    HeadMinxxxstress
    of the Cult of Minx
    Love,
    Lynx
    and yes, i adore that song, tho prefer the Fugees version.

  2. EM, I too believe in holding on with both fists when you find something or someone worth keeping. I do believe in soul mates, although I no longer believe there is just The One, but, if you are lucky, several Ones. The ending to my all-time favorite saying goes “love as if you’ve never been hurt.” Here’s wishing you all the love you can stand with someone who cherishes your soul!

  3. Evil Minx Says:

    LingLing – a mitzvah, noch. I’m so ferklempt! Oy vey is mir, vat a maideleh, always hocking a chainik. (I’m more or less all Yiddish’d out now…!)

    Enough hilarity – now to Pinx’s comment.

    As always, your words of wisdom fall like pearls. Validation from you is always good to hear. Thank you, that helped.

    EMxxx

  4. Minx~ I’ve aways felt we should cling as long as their arms embrace you in turn. No matter how our soul cries out for another we cannot spend our life in labour for their love.

    Cherish is such a monumental word, and if you indeed feel cherished then I believe you should cleave to the cherisher.

  5. I have interesting memories of Roberta…

    Beautiful post Pandora, for you have truly opened the box.

  6. zazzafooky Says:

    Very true, and I care for nothing else, … well, almost.

  7. Evil Minx Says:

    Layne: “if you indeed feel cherished then I believe you should cleave to the cherisher”

    i am reliably informed that yes, i am cherished – and much more by my soulmate. And for as long as it lasts, it’s wonderful. And worth everything.

    [Jx] Thank you so much, sweetie. That’s a lovely thing to say. *Blushing minx*

    TJ: yup. Yuuuuuuuuup, yup, yup.

    EMxxx

  8. Minx:

    Thanks very much for making me a Manx!

    Not exactly sure what is expected of me, though.

    But does it mean I get a fluffy mane and can strut around swinging my tail and roar at all the Minxes whenever I am horny?

    Because, you know, I think I can handle that!!!

  9. Evil Minx Says:

    “does it mean I get a fluffy mane and can strut around swinging my tail and roar at all the Minxes whenever I am horny”

    fluffy mane? sure, whatever floats your boat.

    strutting? I believe strutting is essential, at appropriate times in the Minxdom.

    roar at all the Minxes when you’re horny? well, SJR, you can try – just don’t be surprised if they roar straight back at you, forcing you to cower in a corner and whimper quietly. 😉

    emxxx

  10. Minerva Says:

    Sometimes loving means walking away….

    and I don’t mean to be a kill joy but manxes don’t have tails…

    *grinning*

    Minerva

  11. Crazy Like A Fox Says:

    I completely agree with you, the soul is all that matters. But I believe that your soul-mate is not necessarily a lover, but someone who understands the way you feel and think. My soul-mate is my best friend, but I could be wrong and my true soul-mate and lover maybe be waiting somewhere for me.

  12. The Corporal Says:

    OK, this is pretty uncharacteristic of me, but…

    I never, ever believed in fate, or pre-destiny or soul-mates or any of that crap. Until I met my wife.

    I grew up on the west coast, and she on the east. Our families moved to the same town, and we ended up at the same high school, in the same classes – but, we hated each other.

    Maybe it was because she seemed to be able to read me so well. Maybe that scared me. She saw things in me that no-one else seemed to. The more I talked to her, the more I opened up, and the more I opened up – the easier it was for me to see things in her. I saw beauty and passion that I never imagined possible.

    It may have been fate that brought us to that same town, highscool and classroom, but it was destiny that helped our souls connect the way they did. My wife is, and will always be my soul mate. It has been said that, you have found your soul mate when the worst thing that could ever happen to you, is something happening to them. And I believe it. Now more than ever.

    Before her, I was a “Nowhere Man” (download and listen, by the Beatles.)

    She changed that.

    Forever.

    And I’ll never be able to thank her enough.

  13. Evil Minx Says:

    Minerva: I agree… it’s the whole “if you love something, set it free” principle.

    And a Manx is not a manx cat. They can have manes, tails, tassles, whips, chains, leather and bondage gear for all we care. It’s how you are, not what you wear…

    Crazy: You have a very good point. I have more than one soulmate, one is my best friend and one is my lover. So what you said ties in with Pink also..

    007… You come over all tough and macho, and underneath it all you are such a softie. And I think that is one of the most attractive characteristics about a person, their soft, sensitive inner core. No-one ever expects such a thing to be on permanent display, but when it does pop up, it’s a beautiful thing to witness. That was truly gorgeous…

    Minxxx

  14. The Corporal Says:

    *Blushing* Aw shucks, thanks Minx…

    I just thought I’d share…

  15. Cocaine Jesus Says:

    the idea of finding a soul mate is for me a bit like a line in a radiohead song ‘nice dream’.

  16. Maybe there are lots of different people out there who each connect with a different part of us. For each sliver of an ever changing soul there may be but a match.

    Some people may find all those parts and needs are met by one person, others may take more.

    Perhaps half our problem is the ever present need to define and compartmentalise everything.

    If it’s good…then ride with it.

  17. Yes, how much more?

  18. Evil Minx Says:

    As much as we can take, Jx…

Leave a Reply

